Latest Updates: Moderna collapses after loss of patent litigation leaves her open to infringement lawsuits

Omicron has been detected in at least 21 countries, as governments around the world impose restrictions to limit the spread of the latest variant of the coronavirus.

Nigeria and Ireland joined the list today, while Hong Kong reported a fourth infection upon the arrival of a traveler from Qatar.

“Further epidemiological investigations revealed that the patient had traveled from Papua New Guinea to Nigeria on November 15 and subsequently from Qatar to Hong Kong,” the Hong Kong government said.

Omicron has been identified in Australia, Austria, Belgium, Botswana, Brazil, Canada, Czech Republic, French territory of Réunion, Germany, Hong Kong, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Nigeria, Portugal, South Africa , Spain, Sweden and United Kingdom.

Variant cases of the coronavirus have also been reported in Denmark, Mozambique, Norway, South Korea and Saudi Arabia.

Countries around the world have imposed travel restrictions with Japan’s Transport Ministry today calling for international airlines to stop taking new bookings for all flights to Japan until the end of December.

Nigeria has identified its first cases of Omicron “in three people with a history of travel to South Africa,” the Nigeria Center for Disease Control said.

“The NCDC assumes that Omicron is prevalent around the world given the increasing number of countries reporting this variant,” added the NCDC.

About Valerie Wilson

Check Also

State lotteries transfer wealth to needy communities

In South Carolina, gamers with household incomes below $35,000 a year spent more than double …